To delete records, select the desired record in the browse window and then either click the button on the toolbar, select File Delete … from the main menu or the context menu (see Context Menus), or press the Shift+Del key combination. The Delete menu options will only be enabled if the user has Edit access rights to the browse module, or if configured accordingly, only the program administrator may delete records (see User Security).
If batch deleting has been enabled then the program administrator (see User Security) may select multiple records for deleting (see module option “Allow Batch Deleting from Browse Windows by the Administrator” under General Module Options). To select multiple individual records, hold down the Ctrl key while clicking the record selector area at the left side of each row (see Browse Window). To select a range of records, select the first row of the range and then hold down the Shift key while clicking the last row of the range.
If the record to be deleted is open in a view or edit window then you will first be prompted to close that view or edit window. And depending on the general defaults, you may also be prompted to confirm the deletion request before proceeding (see module option “Display a Confirmation Prompt Before Deleting” under General Module Options).
If the data on the selected record is critical and is already referenced by another record in the database (e.g. a customer account is referenced on a repair order record) then you will be prevented from deleting that record. A specific message will usually be displayed to explain where that record to be deleted is being referenced. Sometimes records may simply be marked as inactive instead of deleting them (e.g. customer and vendor accounts), or all references may manually be removed from related records so that the desired record can finally be deleted. Archiving older records to another database may also remove some or all records that are referenced by the record that you wish to delete (see Archiving an Access Database).
Batch deleting is available only for licensed users of version 3.0 and higher, and is not available in the Repair Micro edition.